Download our standards for health centres in resource-restricted settings

SafeCare has introduced standards to provide public and private health facilities with independent quality assessments. The standards are designed to help bridge the gap between today and a better tomorrow, bringing healthcare quality and patient safety to new levels. The SafeCare standards version 1.2 have been accredited in 2012 by the International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQua), the global leader in healthcare quality that “accredits the accreditors”. From February 2017, the new SafeCare standards version 3.1 have been accredited by ISQua as well.

By using the SafeCare standards as the basis for a stepwise improvement quality improvement methodology, healthcare providers are empowered to deliver quality health services and facilitate ongoing quality improvement in order to ensure the safety of their patients, staff, and visitors. Built upon the Donabedian Model of healthcare quality, the SafeCare standards evaluate the structures and processes that guide the delivery of healthcare services.

Designed for resource-restricted settings

The SafeCare standards were designed specifically to target health facilities in low- and middle-income countries. These facilities operate in challenging environments that are often defined by staffing shortages, resource-restrictions, and inadequate infrastructure. A wide range of facilities can be assessed using the standards, including public, private, and not-for-profit facilities ranging from health shops, to basic and primary health centers, as well as district hospitals.

Structure of the standards

The SafeCare standards cover the full range of clinical services and management functions. These broad categories, Service Elements, are divided into separate management responsibilities within the healthcare facility. Each Service element contains a number of criteria that are assessed in order to ascertain the level of compliance with the standards. Non-compliant criteria that represent a high risk in terms of safety, quality, or financial sustainability are identified as the highest priority for resolution.The Management and Ancillary Service Elements contain requirements that apply throughout the entire facility, while the remaining Service Elements are specific to Clinical and Clinical Support areas such as inpatient care, outpatient care, laboratory and pharmaceutical services. To view the complete set of SafeCare standards click here.

Stepwise improvement and certification

With the technical support of SafeCare and partner organizations, facilities are equipped to progress along a quality improvement trajectory in manageable and measureable steps. In order to recognize the progress of healthcare facilities in improving medical quality, strengthening financial management, and reducing risks to patients, staff, and visitors, SafeCare awards SafeCare Certificates.

© SafeCareTM - All rights reserved

We welcome you to view our standards and approach. However, kindly take note of the following.

SafeCare Intellectual Property

The SafeCare website and all the information it contains or may in the future contain, including the SafeCare Standards and the SafeCare brand, are the property of SafeCare or its licensors, and are protected by intellectual property laws and conventions on copyright and trademarks.


Nothing contained on this website should be construed as granting any license or right to use the website or its content, without the prior written permission of SafeCare. You may not copy, disseminate and/or publish the SafeCare Standards for any commercial purpose, without the prior written permission of SafeCare.

The SafeCare Standards may be used for internal purposes or for academic research, provided that no extract represents a significant part thereof. When using the SafeCare Standards, in whole or in part, we require you to make reference to SafeCare in the following manner:

This work is based on the SafeCare Standards ( The work itself is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of SafeCare.”


The SafeCare Standards are published on an “as is, as available” basis. SafeCare makes no warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the fitness of being used for a particular purpose. Under no circumstances shall SafeCare nor any party affiliated to it be liable for any direct, indirect, special or consequential damages arising out of the use of the SafeCare Standards at your own initiative.