Back to Who we are

SafeCare standards

SafeCare standards are divided into 13 different categories, covering full range medical to non-medical aspects of care and ranging from small health shops to large district hospitals. They are accredited by the International Society for Quality in Health Care External Evaluation Association (ISQuaEEA).

Criteria are used across the 13 categories to measure the quality performance of healthcare facilities. Any issues that have a high impact on the safety, quality or financial sustainability of the facility are highlighted as priority areas, so prompt and effective action can be taken to address them.

Ten topics are specifically surveyed:  Accident and Emergency Care, HIV & TB & Malaria, Infection Prevention, Life & Fire Safety, Mother & Child, Customer Care, Business Performance, Staff & Training, Stock Management and Clinical Management.

Depending on a facility’s performance against the SafeCare standards, it will be awarded a certificate of improvement, ranging from level 1 (very modest quality) to level 5 (high quality). As the facility improves its performance against the SafeCare standards, it progresses to the next certificate of improvement, providing a transparent, positive and motivational rating system that recognizes each stage of the improvement journey.

Our service elements

SafeCare standards are available upon request for non-commercial purposes.



Governance & Management


Human Resource Management


Patient and Family Rights & Access to Care


Management of Information

002-high-voltage copy 3

Risk Management



Primary Healthcare (Outpatient) Services


In-patient Care


Surgery & Anesthesia Services

Clinical support


Laboratory Services


Diagnostic Imaging Services


Medication Management



Facility Management Services


Support Services

SafeCare guidelines and procedures

The development of new standards and the revision of existing standards are guided by the SafeCare Standards Development Procedure. Stakeholders who would like to provide their input are invited to share that by sending an email to

The review schedule contains the different steps that will be undertaken to review the current SafeCare Standards v4.0. It includes clearly defined activities, resources, and timeframes.

Impartiality statement, to ensure that all PharmAccess Certification and Accreditation processes meet the highest ethical and legal standards within the certification and accreditation industries.

SafeCare, its Directors, Managers, Staff, and others involved in the Certification or Accreditation of Organizations fully understand the importance of impartiality in undertaking their activities. SafeCare will therefore ensure that in its dealings with clients or potential clients, all employees or other personnel involved in SafeCare activities are, and will remain, impartial.

To ensure that impartiality is both maintained and can be demonstrated, SafeCare has identified, and assessed the risks related to all relationships which may result in a conflict of interest or pose a threat to impartiality.

The review schedule contains the different steps that will be undertaken to review the current SafeCare Standards v4.0. It includes clearly defined activities, resources, and timeframes.

Procedure on Handling Incidents, Enquiries, Complaints and Compliments from clients in relation to SafeCare Certification activities.

Policy describing the process of refusing a SafeCare Certification application, the awarding of SafeCare Certificates, the withdrawal, expiry and renewal of a SafeCare Certificate as well as the options to appeal.

Policy on how to properly use the SafeCare certificate, brand and logo. For further brand guidelines, please contact the SafeCare team.